Home> CountriesNorth America> The Bahamas
Bahamas Music - Bahamas Music
00:00 / 00:00

The Bahamas


Country Name

The Bahamas or officially the Commonwealth of the Bahamas.



 The islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean north of Cuba,

The Dominican Republic and Haiti, northwest.

of the Turks and Caicos Islands and to the southeast of the

United States of America (closer to Florida).      

Consisting of 29 islands, 661 low-lying islands, and 2,387 islands (rocks).


Reason for naming the country

The word "Bahamas" is derived from the Spanish word ‘Baja mar' which means ‘low tide' or ‘shallow water or sea'. 








The flag of the Bahamas was adopted on July 10, 1973.

The flag of the Bahamas consists of three colors: blue, yellow

and black.

Blue:  symbolizes the waters surrounding the Bahamas,

the Atlantic Ocean, and the Caribbean.  

Yellow: symbolizes the country's beaches.  

Black: symbolizes the inhabitants of the Bahamas.



The official language is English.



Most of the population is Christian, and small groups of Jews, Baha'is, Muslims, Hindus and Rastafarians.



Bahamian Dollar.


Time Zone



  -04:00 GMT  (Daylight Saving Time).


Government Regime

Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy.



The climate of the Bahamas is moderate in summer and winter; its climate is mild tropical sea climate throughout the year. In the summer, the temperature rises to 29 ° C and in the winter it reaches 22 ° C, but may sometimes suffer from floods due to currents Coming from the sea in the summer and autumn.


International Phone code

+1 242

Internet Code


Some Facts About The Bahamas




Bahamas Flag
Bahamian Dollar


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com