Home> Countries> North America> Saint Lucia
00:00 / 04:03

Saint Lucia

Country Name

Saint Lucia


Saint Lucia is a sovereign island country in the West Indies in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean.

Part of the Lesser Antilles, it is located north/northeast of

the island of Saint Vincent, northwest of Barbados and south of 


St Lucia.png



Reason for naming the country 

Saint Lucia was first known as “Louanalao” by the Arawak Indians in 200 AD, meaning “Island of the Iguanas,” and then “Hewanorra,” in 800 AD when the Carib Indians arrived and assimilated their culture into Saint Lucia. Residents of Carib descent can still be found in Saint Lucia today.

Saint Lucia was named after Saint Lucy of Syracuse (AD 283 – 304).

 It is one of two countries in the world named after a woman (Ireland is named after the Celtic goddess of fertility Eire) and the only country named after a historical woman. St. Helena, another island. 


The Saint Lucian flag was adopted on March 1, 1967.

The flag of Saint Lucia consists of a light blue base.

In the center of the flag, there is a gold isosceles triangle pointing upwards below a black arrowhead that is outlined in white.

The blue color represents loyalty, it also reflects the tropical sky and the emerald surrounding waters- the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean.

Gold represents the sunshine in the Caribbean and prosperity.

Black and white stand for the culture influences the white part

represents the white culture and the black part, the black culture -the two races living and working in unity.

The design impresses the dominance of the Negro culture vis-à-vis that of Europe, against a background of sun­shine and ever-blue sea.



The official language is English.

Saint Lucian French Creole is also known as patois or Patwa, and it is used by approximately 95% of the local population.

Lucian Creole French is a variant of the Antillean Creole language family and is widely used in music and literature.


About half of the population are Roman Catholic.

And the other belong to Protestant denominations, includes Seventh-Day Adventist, Pentecostal, Baptist, Anglican, Church of God, Evangelicals, and Jehovah's Witnesses.

There are a minority of the population adheres to the Rastafari movement and other religions include Islam, Bahá'í Faith, Judaism, and Buddhism.


East Caribbean dollar (XCD)

East Caribbean dollar.jpg

Time zone​

-04:00 GMT

Government Regime

Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy.


Saint Lucia has a tropical climate, hot all year round, with a relatively cool, dry season from January to mid-April and a hot, humid, and rainy season from mid-June to November.

In the former period, the northeast trade winds, constant winds typical of tropical climates, blow steadily and with moderate intensity, while in the latter period, these winds are more irregular, and may have some breaks, increasing the feeling of sultriness.

Between them, there are two transitional periods: from December to early January when the northeast wind starts to blow, the temperature decreases a bit, and the weather improves and from mid-April to Mid-June when both the temperature and the frequency of downpours gradually increase.

International Phone Code

+1  758

Internet Code


Some Facts About Saint Lucia
Read More