Home> Countries> Asia> Qatar
00:00 / 07:32


Country Name

Qatar, officially the State of Qatar


Qatar is a country located in Western Asia.

Qatar shares a boundary with Saudi Arabia only.

It is situated in the Persian Gulf and mostly surrounded by Persian


Qatar shares maritime borders with Saudi Arabia, Bahrain

and the UAE.




The reason for naming the country

Pliny the Elder, a Roman writer, documented the earliest account about the inhabitants of the peninsula around the mid-first century AD, referring to them as the Catharrei, a designation which may have derived from the name of a prominent local settlement.

A century later, Ptolemy produced the first known map to describe the peninsula, referring to it as Catara. The map also referenced a town named "Cadara" to the east of the peninsula.

The term 'Catara' (inhabitants, Cataraei) was exclusively used until the 18th century, after which 'Katara' emerged as the most commonly recognized spelling.

Eventually, after several variations – 'Katr', 'Kattar' and 'Guttur' – modern derivative Qatar was adopted as the country's name.


The flag of Qatar was adopted on 9 July 1971.

The flag consists of two colors white color on the left part of the

flag and maroon color on the right side of the flag.

The two colors are separated by nine white triangles which act as

a serrated line.

The maroon color represents the bloodshed during several wars

the white color represents peace.

*Flag Facts:

-The flag is very similar to the flag of Bahrain​, which has fewer points, and a red color instead of maroon. Qatar's flag is the only national flag having a width of more than twice its height.



Islam is the dominant religion in Qatar and also the country’s official religion.

Most of the Muslims of Qatar belong to the Sunni sect while only about 10% of the Muslim population of the country are Shiites.

Other minorities include Christians, Hindus, and Buddhist

Most Christians are foreigners of European, South, and North American descent.

Hindus & Buddhist are immigrants from South Asia and Southeast Asia.


Arabic is the official language of Qatar, with Qatari Arabic the local dialect.

 English is commonly used as a second language, and a rising lingua franca, especially in commerce, to the extent that steps are being taken to try to preserve Arabic from English's encroachment.

Reflecting the multicultural make-up of the country, many other languages are also spoken, including Persian, Baluchi, Brahui, Hindi, Malayalam, Urdu, Pashto, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu, Nepali, Sinhalese, Bengali, Tagalog, and Indonesian.


Riyal (QAR)

Time Zone

+03:00 GMT. 

Riyal (QAR).jpg

Government Regime

Unitary absolute monarchy.


The climate of Qatar is desert, with very mild winters, and very hot and sunny summers.

Being a small and flat country, it has a similar climate throughout the territory.
There are two main seasons: a cooler season from December to February, and a hot season from April to October.
The best time to visit Qatar is from mid-November to mid-March: it is the only time of the year that is not hot. In general, the weather is mild and sunny from December to February, and warm but not too much in November and March. Some cloudy days are possible, sometimes with rain, especially from December to February.

International Phone Code


Internet Code



Some Facts about Qatar
Read More