top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 10, 2022

Home> Countries> ِAsia> Uzbekistan

Country Name

Uzbekistan, and officially the Republic of Uzbekistan.


Uzbekistan is a country in Central Asia. It is surrounded by five landlocked countries: Kazakhstan to the north; Kyrgyzstan to the northeast; Tajikistan to the southeast; Afghanistan to the south and Turkmenistan to the southwest.



Reason for Naming the country

The name “Uzbekistan” means "Home of the Free".

It is taken from a combination of uz which means in Turkic "self", bek "master"("bey in modern Turkish"), and -stan (in Persian means "land of").

The word Uzbek itself remains disputed. One view holds that it is named after Oghuz Khagan, also known as Oghuz Beg, which became the word Uzbek.

Another theory states that the name means independent or the lord himself, from Öz (self) and the Turkic title Bek/Bey/Beg.

A third theory holds that the variant Uz, of the word Uğuz, earlier Oğuz, united with the word Bek to form Uğuz-bek > Uz-bek, meaning "leader of an Oguz".


The Flag of Uzbekistan was adopted on 18 November 1991.

The flag consists of three horizontal blue, white, and green stripes separated by two thin red fimbriations, with a white crescent moon and twelve stars at the canton.