Updated: Sep 13

Home> Countries> Africa> Uganda

Country Name

Uganda, officially the Republic of Uganda.


Uganda is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the southwest by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a large part of Lake Victoria shared with Kenya and Tanzania.



Reason for Naming the country

Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country, including the capital Kampala. The people of Uganda were hunter-gatherers until 1,700 to 2,300 years ago when Bantu-speaking populations migrated to the southern parts of the country.


The flag of Uganda was adopted on 9 October 1962, when Uganda became independent from Great Britain. The flag consists of two times repeated tricolor of six horizontal stripes of black, yellow, and red color. In the center of the flag, there is a white disc that contains a grey crowned crane- the crane is the national bird of Uganda. The bird represents the progress of the country, and the raised leg of the crane represents the forward movement of the country.

The Black color represents the native ethnicity of Africa, the yellow color represents Africa's sunshine, the red color represents brotherhood and is also the color of blood that connects all Africans.


Uganda is a multilingual country in East Africa. There are forty living native languages in Uganda, which can be grouped into three main language families: Bantu, Central Sudanic, and Nilotic. Two additional languages spoken in the country come from the Kuliak language family. English was adopted during the country's colonial, and it remains an official language, As English is the official language it is used in the education system, government, and media. The English dialect spoken in Uganda is sometimes called Uglish or Ugandan English, and a rich local flavor characterizes the language. Swahili, is the second official language that has regional significance, that has been adopted by the nation.


Christianity is the most widely practiced religion in the country. Today, the principal Christian denominations practiced in the country are Roman Catholicism, Anglican Protestantism, and various other denominations. Sunni Islam is practiced by 12.1% of the population and another 1.6% practice some other branch of Islam, such as Shia, Ahmadiyya, or others. There are minority groups of Buddhism, the Baha’i Faith, or Hinduism.


Ugandan shilling (UGX).

Time Zone

+03:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary dominant-party presidential republic.


Uganda has a climate that is decreased by altitude, the climate is pleasantly warm, with average temperatures ranging between 20 °C and 25 °C (68 °F and 77 °F), and annual rainfall. Temperature variations throughout the year are few, however, there is a warmer period from December to March, more obvious in the north, and a cooler period from June to September. In general, the temperatures are pleasant, although it can sometimes get hot during the day, especially from December to April, while nights can be cool or even cold, depending on altitude, and this can happen throughout the year, but especially from June to August.

The best time to visit Uganda is January & February are quite dry almost everywhere, so they are the best months, although some showers may still occur, especially in the south and along the western mountain slopes, while during the day, it can get hot, especially in the north and below a thousand meters Considering that the temperature is quite stable and both the intense cold and the heat rarely occur.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Uganda

Facts About Uganda

Famous Food you should try in Uganda

Famous Places to Visit in Uganda

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Uganda

أشهر الأكلات في أوغندا

معلومات شيقة عن أوغندا

نبذة عن أوغندا

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في أوغندا

عادات و ثقافة أوغندا

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All