top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 14, 2022

Home> Countries> Africa> Tunisia

Country Name

Tunisia or officially the Republic of Tunisia.


Tunisia is an Arab Country, and is a part of the Maghreb region of North Africa and is bordered by Algeria to the west and southwest, Libya to the southeast, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east. Italy also shares a maritime border with Tunisia.



Reason for Naming the country

Tunisia was called Ifrīqiyyah in the early centuries of the Islamic period. That name, in turn, comes from the Roman word for Africa, and the name was also given by the Romans to their first African colony. The word Tunisia is derived from Tunis; a central urban hub and the capital of modern-day Tunisia. The present form of the name, with its Latinate suffix -ia, evolved from French Tunisie, in turn generally associated with the Berber root, transcribed tns, which means "to lay down".


The flag of Tunisia was adopted on 20 October 1827, it has not changed much since then. The flag has a red background with a white circle in the middle, the white circle containing a five-pointed star surrounded by a red crescent. The red color represents the blood of martyrs killed during the Ottoman conquest of Tunisia in 1574. The white color represents peace, and the circle represents the sun, while the crescent and five-pointed star represent the unity of all Muslims and the Five Pillars of Islam, These symbols also point to the historical ties to the Ottoman Empire.

* Flag fact:

- The flag may resemble the flag of Turkey, as Tunisia was for several centuries controlled by Turkish, but in the Turkish flag, there is no white circle.