top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

The Falkland Islands

Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> South America> Falkland Islands

Country Name

The Falkland Islands.

It comprises East Falkland, West Falkland, and 776 smaller islands.


It lies about 480 km northeast of the southern tip of South America and a similar distance east of the Strait of Magellan.



Reason for Naming the country

The name "Falkland Islands" comes from Falkland* Sound, the strait that separates the two main islands.

The name "Falkland" was applied to the channel by John Strong, captain of an English expedition that landed on the islands in 1690.

*The Falkland Sound is a sea strait in the Falkland Islands. Running southwest-northeast, it separates West and East Falkland.


The current flag of the Falkland Islands was adopted on 25 January 1999 and consists of a defaced Blue Ensign, with the Union Flag in the canton and the Falkland Islands coat-of-arms on the fly.

The flag of Falkland Island symbolizes its association with Britain,

as it is one of its overseas territories.

The ship symbolizes the Desire, a vessel that is believed to have been used by Captain John Davis when he discovered the Falkland Islands in 1592.

The ram represents sheep farming, which is a major economic industry in

the country, while the tussock grass represents the most notable native vegetation in the country.