top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

South Africa

Updated: Sep 15, 2022

Home> Countries> Africa> South Africa

Country Name

South Africa, officially The Republic of South Africa.


Is the southernmost country in Africa. It is bounded on the south by the Southern African coastline stretching along the South Atlantic and Indian Oceans.

It is bordered in the north by Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe; and in the east and northeast by Mozambique and Swaziland; The states of Lesotho and Swaziland are all located within the territory of South Africa.


There are three capitals of South Africa

Pretoria (executive),

Bloemfontein (judicial),

Cape Town (legislative).

Reason for Naming the country

The name "South Africa" is derived from the country's geographic location at the southern tip of Africa. Upon formation, the country was named The Union of South Africa reflecting its origin in the unification of four formerly separate British colonies. Since 1961 the long-form name has been the "Republic of South Africa". In Dutch, the country was named Republiek van Zuid-Afrika, replaced in 1983 by the Afrikaans Republiek van Suid-Afrika. Since 1994 the Republic has had an official name in each of its 11 official languages.


The flag of South Africa was adopted on 27 April 1994.

The South African flag features horizontal stripes of red and blue on

the top and bottom, respectively. They are separated by a green Y design