top of page
  • To-Go


Updated: Sep 18, 2022

Home> Countries> Oceania/ Australia> Samoa

Country Name

Samoa, or officially the Independent State of Samoa.


Samoa is located in the Pacific Ocean's Polynesian area, south of the equator, almost midway between Hawaii and New Zealand. Samoa is made up of two major islands, Upolu and Savai'i, as well as seven smaller islets. Upolu is home to Samoa's capital city, Apia, as well as roughly three-quarters of the country's total population.




The Samoan flag was adopted on February 24, 1949, while Samoa was still a trusted territory of New Zealand. On January 1, 1962, Samoa achieved independence from New Zealand.

Samoa's flag is red with a blue square in the upper left corner. The red color represents courage, the blue color represents independence, and the white color represents purity.

The five stars represent the Southern Cross constellation, with the stars Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta, and Epsilon being the smallest since it does not light as brilliantly as the other stars in the constellation. The cross symbolizes Samoa's geographical location in the world as well as its connection to New Zealand, which also has the Southern Cross on its national flag.

*Flag Facts:

- The flag of Samoa is similar to the flag of Taiwan, Both flags consist of a red field with a blue rectangle in the canton, the flag of Samoa has a white star in the blue rectangle and the flag of Taiwan has a sun.


The official language of Samoa is Samoan and it is spoken across the majority of Samoa's islands. Samoan is the oldest and most spoken Polynesian language worldwide.

English is widely spoken in Samoa and is mostly used for commercial interactions. Many Samoans are fully bilingual in both languages, so there are more speakers of Samoans than English in Samoa.


The main religion in Samoa is Christianity, which includes several Protestant groups as well as the Roman Catholic church. The Assembly of God and the Seventh-day Adventists are two major Protestant groups. Congregationalists and Methodists accompany them. There are also Baha'i adherents, and Samoa hosts one of the seven Baha'i houses of worship in the world.