top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

Saint Lucia

Updated: Sep 18, 2022

tlanHome> Countries> North America> Saint Lucia

Country Name

Saint Lucia.


Saint Lucia is a sovereign island country in the West Indies in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean.

Part of the Lesser Antilles is located north/northeast of the island of Saint Vincent, northwest of Barbados, and south of Martinique.



Reason for Naming the country

Saint Lucia was named "Louanalao" by the Arawak Indians around 200 AD, meaning "Island of the Iguanas," and then "Hewanorra" by the Carib Indians in 800 AD, when they came and absorbed their culture into Saint Lucia. Carib descendants can still be seen in Saint Lucia today.

Saint Lucy of Syracuse (AD 283–304) inspired the name, Saint Lucia. It is one of only two nations in the world named after a woman (the other being Ireland, which is named after the Celtic goddess of fertility, Eire), and the only one named after a historical woman. Another island is St. Helena.


On March 1, 1967, the Saint Lucian