top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

Puerto Rico

Updated: Sep 19, 2022

Home> Countries> North America> Puerto Rico

Country Name

Puerto Rico, or officially the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.


Puerto Rico is an archipelago among the Greater Antilles located between the Dominican Republic and the U.S. Virgin Islands, It is bordered to the west by Haití and the Dominican Republic, separated by the Mona Passage, to the east by the Virgin Islands, to the north by the Atlantic Ocean, and to the south by the Caribbean Sea. Puerto Rico is under the U.S. customs authority.

Mayotte location


San Juan.

Reason for naming the country

Puerto Rico is a Spanish word that means"rich port".

Puerto Ricans often call the island Borinquén a derivation of Borikén, its indigenousTaíno name, which means "Land of the Valiant Lord".

The island is also popularly known in Spanish as La Isla del Encanto, meaning "the island of enchantment".

Columbus named the island San Juan Bautista, in honor of Saint John the Baptist, while the capital city was named Ciudad de Puerto Rico ("Rich Port City").

The island's name was changed to Porto Rico by the United States after the Treaty of Paris of 1898.


The current flag of Puerto Rico was adopted in 1952 by the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

The Puerto Rican flag is composed of three colors: red, white, and blue. The flag is composed of horizontal stripes of 3 red stripes and 2 white stripes, on the left side of the flag there is a five-pointed star on the blue triangle pointing inwards.

The red color represents the blood shed by the brave warriors, The white color represents individual liberty and rights or victory and peace gained after independence, The white star stands for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the triangle represents the three arms of the government, while the blue color represents the color of the ocean and the skies of Puerto Rico.

The meaning of the colors of the flag has changed over the years. Additionally, different tone colors of blue have been used in the flags since there is no single tone specified for the flag.

*Flag Facts:

- The flag of Puerto Rico is similar to the flag of Cuba.

Puerto Rico adopts the same design as the Cuban flag but inverts the colors. The Puerto Rican flag has red and white stripes and a white star on a blue triangle. The Cuban flag has blue and white stripes and a white star on a red triangle.


Puerto Rico has two official languages; English and Spanish which are the most widely spoken languages in Puerto Rico.

Before the Spanish occupation of Puerto Rico, the languages spoken in the country were of Taino descent.

Along with the two major languages, there are minority languages that are spoken, primarily by immigrants. These languages include French, German, Italian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, and Hindi. Some of these languages are taught in several colleges and universities across the island.

The languages of Puerto Rico represent more than identity but also the island’s history. The two principal languages in the country are a result of foreign occupation and changing political landscapes.


The majority of Puerto Ricans identify as Roman Catholic (69.7%), Catholicism has had a significant influence over the government and society of Puerto Rico since colonial times.

Protestantism is the second largest religious identity in Puerto Rico, and 25.1% of the population claim to follow a Protestant sect.

Other Christian denominations can include a number of churches and sects, including Seventh Day Adventists, Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Defenders of the Faith, and Assemblies of God.

At least 1.4% of Puerto Rico's population reports practicing a non-Christian-based religion. These religions include Islam, Judaism, indigenous religions, and African-based religions.


United States dollar (US$) (USD).


Time Zone

-04:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Devolved presidential constitutional dependency.


The climate of Puerto Rico is tropical, and hot all year round, with a hot and muggy season from May to October and a cool season from December to March, while November and April as intermediate months.

The island has an average temperature of 28 °C (82.4 °F) throughout the year, with an average minimum temperature of 19 °C (66.9 °F) and a maximum of 30 °C (85.4 °F).

The best time to visit Puerto Rico is from December to March as this is the coolest and least rainy period in Puerto Rico, which is also outside of the hurricane season.

International Phone Code



Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Puerto Rico

Facts About Puerto Rico

Famous Food you should try in Puerto Rico

Famous Places to Visit in Puerto Rico

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Puerto Rico

أشهر الأكلات في بورتوريكو

معلومات شيقة عن بورتوريكو

نبذة عن بورتوريكو

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في بورتوريكو

عادات و ثقافة بورتوريكو

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page