Pitcairn Islands 

Updated: Feb 6

Home> Countries> Oceania > Pitcairn Islands 

Country Name The Pitcairn Islands, officially Pitcairn Group of Islands (the Pitcairn, & Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands).


The Pitcairn Islands is a group of four volcanic islands (Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno) in the southern Pacific Ocean that form the sole British Overseas Territory in the Pacific Ocean.

Henderson Island accounts for 86% of the land area, but only Pitcairn Island is inhabited. The nearest places are Mangareva of French Polynesia to the west and Easter Island to the east.




The flag of the Pitcairn Islands was adopted on 2 April 1984. The design was suggested by the Pitcairn Island Council in December 1980 and approved by Queen Elizabeth II in April 1984.

The coat of arms of the Pitcairn Islands was granted by royal warrant dated 4 November 1969.

The flag was flown on Pitcairn for the first time in May 1984.

The flag is composed of a Union Jack in the upper left corner while the island's royal symbol located on the right side on a dark blue background.

The coat of arms represents the island's history, a shield represents that features the Bible and an anchor from HMS Bounty.

The anchor represents the maritime history of the island, while the Bible represents the Christian religion that the mutineers established on the unsettled, rocky island. The shield is equally divided between the colors green and blue, which symbolize the green island jutting up from the vast blue sea. Above the shield is a helmet surrounded by a wheelbarrow that holds a flowering bloom of miro, a local plant. The wheelbarrow represents the agriculture that the mutineers relied on to survive the harsh elements of the remote island.


The official languages are English & Pitkern.

Most resident Pitcairn Islanders are descendants of the Bounty mutineers and Tahitians (or other Polynesians).

Pitkern is a creole language derived from 18th-century English, with elements of the Tahitian language.

It is spoken as a first language by the population and is taught alongside English at the island's only school. It is closely related to the creole language Norfuk, spoken on Norfolk Island.


The only church building on the island is Seventh-day Adventist. The Seventh-day Adventist Church is not a state religion, as no laws concerning its establishment were passed by the local government.


New Zealand dollar (NZ$) (NZD).

Time Zone -08:00 GMT.

Government Regime Devolved locally governing dependency.

Climate The climate of the Pitcairn Islands is subtropical oceanic, hot summer from December to March when the maximum temperatures are around 27/28 °C (81/82 °F), and a very mild winter from June to September, with maximum temperatures around 22/23 °C (72/73 °F).

The best time to visit the Pitcairn Islands, from January to March, since it is the warmest and sunniest period of the year.

International Phone Code +64

Internet Code