top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 26, 2022

Home> Countries> Asia> Mongolia

Country Name



Mongolia is a landlocked country in East Asia. Mongolia is bordered by China to the south, east, and west, and Russia to the north.



Reason for Naming

The name Mongolia means the "Land of the Mongols" in Latin. The origin of the word the Mongolian word "Mongol" is of uncertain etymology, given variously such as the name of a mountain or river; a corruption of the Mongolian Mongkhe-tengri-gal, or a derivation from Mugulu, the 4th-century founder of the Rouran Khaganate.


The Flag of Mongolia was adopted on 12 January 1992. The first use of the current flag design was in 1940. The flag consists of three vertical stripes a red stripe on each side and a blue stripe in the middle. The Soyombo symbol is centered on the hoist-side of the red stripe in yellow color. The red color represents thriving forever, The blue stripe represents the eternal blue sky, The Soyombo symbol is a geometric abstraction that represents fire, sun, moon, earth, water, and a Taijitu symbol represents the duality of yin and yang.


The official language of Mongolia is Mongolian and is spoken by 95% of the population. A variety of dialects of Oirat and Buryat are spoken across the country, and there are also some speakers of Mongolic Khamnigan. In the west of the country, Kazakh and Tuvan, both Turkic languages, are also spoken. Mongolian Sign Language is the principal language of the deaf community. Russian is the most frequently spoken foreign language in Mongolia, followed by English, although English has been gradually replacing Russian as the second language. Korea has gained popularity as tens of thousands of Mongolians work in South Korea.


Mongolian Buddhism and Shamanism have been the two dominant religions in Mongolia with most indigenous Mongols adhering to these religions. The Buddhism practiced in Mongolia is heavily influenced by Tibetan Buddhism. Mongolian Shamanism refers to the indigenous folk religion of the people of Mongolia. It is the oldest religion practiced in the country The Constitution of the country provides for freedom of religion. The government generally respects this right of the people. There is about 38.6% of the population is not affiliated with any religion. Other minorities practiced in Mongolia are Muslims and Christians.


Tögrög (MNT).

Time Zone

Mongolia has 2 time zones

+07:00 GMT.

+08:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary semi-presidential republic.


In Mongolia, the climate is strongly continental with long cold winters and short warm summers; the temperature range between winter and summer is wide. The climate is unstable, so, from year to year, there may be significant variations in temperature and precipitation. Rainfall is rare and is concentrated in summer when the country is partly affected by the Asian monsoon; in winter, when a thermal high-pressure system dominates, the sky is often clear. During winter, snowfalls are frequent but usually light, they often create a thin white veil, which can be carried away by the wind. Sometimes, light snow can even fall when the sky is clear. In winter the temperature drops to -20 °C (-4 °F), The best time to visit Mongolia is in the summer, from June to August when the temperature remains above freezing even at night.

International Phone Code


Internet Code



Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Mongolia

Facts About Mongolia

Famous Food you should try in Mongolia

Famous Places to Visit in Mongolia

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Mongolia

أشهر الأكلات في منغوليا

معلومات شيقة عن منغوليا

نبذة عن منغوليا

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في منغوليا

عادات و ثقافة منغوليا

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page