top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 30, 2022

Home> Countries> North America> Jamaica

Country Name



Jamaica is an island country situated in the Caribbean Sea. Jamaica lies about 145 kilometers (90 mi) south of Cuba, and 191 kilometers (119 mi) west of Hispaniola (the island containing the countries of Haiti and the Dominican Republic); the British Overseas Territory of the Cayman Islands

lies some 215 kilometers (134 mi) to the northwest.



Reason for Naming the country

Jamaica whose name means "land of wood and water" was originally spelt "Xaymaca" but was later changed by Spanish Explorers.

The indigenous people, the Yamaye (also known as the Taíno), called the island Xaymaca in the Arawakan language, meaning the "Land of Wood and Water" or the "Land of Springs".

Prior to 1580, Honduras referred to only the eastern part of the province, and Higueras referred to the western part.


The Jamaican flag was adopted on August 6, 1962, after gaining independence from the Federation of the West Indies.

The flag of Jamaica has two diagonal yellow lines forming a cross on the flag, which sections it into four parts. The top and bottom sections are equal-sized green triangles, and the left and right sections are equal-sized black triangles.