top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

Ivory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire)

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

Home> Countries> Africa> Ivory Coast

Country Name

Ivory Coast, also known as Côte d'Ivoire, officially the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire.


Ivory Coast is a country located on the south coast of West Africa.

It borders Guinea to the northwest, Liberia to the west, Mali to the northwest, Burkina Faso to the northeast, Ghana to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea (Atlantic Ocean) to the south.




The reason for naming the country

Originally, Portuguese and French merchant explorers in the 15th and 16th centuries divided the west coast of Africa, very roughly, into four "coasts" reflecting local economies. The coast that the French named the Côte d'Ivoire literally, means "Coast of Ivory" which reflects the major trade that occurred on that particular stretch of the coast: the export of ivory.


The Cote d'Ivoire flag was adopted on December 4, 1959. The design of the Cote d'Ivoire flag was based on the French flag. Cote d'Ivoire gained independence from France on August 7, 1960.

The Cote d'Ivoire flag consists of three vertical stripes the left stripe is

orange, white, and green. Orange represents the land, rich and generous, also it represents the meaning of the blood of young people fighting for freedom; white represents peace, and green stands for hope and the certainty of a better future.