top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> Europe> Hungary

Country Name



Hungary is a country in Central Europe. It borders Slovakia to the north, Ukraine to the northeast, Romania to the east and southeast, Serbia to the south, Croatia and Slovenia to the southwest, and Austria to the west.



Reason for Naming

The "H" in the name of Hungary (and Latin Hungaria) is most likely due to founded historical associations with the Huns, who had settled Hungary prior to the Avars. The rest of the word comes from the Latinized form of Byzantine Greek Oungroi (Οὔγγροι). The Greek name was borrowed from Old Bulgarian ągrinŭ, in turn, borrowed from Oghur-Turkic Onogur ('ten tribes of the Ogurs'). Onogur was the collective name for the tribes who later joined the Bulgar tribal confederacy that ruled the eastern parts of Hungary after the Avars.

The Hungarian endonym is Magyarország, composed of Magyar ('Hungarian') and ország ('country'). The name "Magyar", which refers to the people of the country, more accurately reflects the name of the country in some other languages such as Turkish, Persian, and other languages such as Magyaristan or Land of Magyars or similar. The word Magyar is taken from the name of one of the seven major semi-nomadic Hungarian tribes, magyeri.


The first use of the flag was in 1848. The Flag of Hungary was adopted on 23 May 1957. The tricolor design of the Hungarian flag is based on the ideas behind the French Revolution.

The flag consists of three horizontal stripes of red, white, and green color.

According to folklore, The red color represents strength, the white color represents faithfulness, and the green color represents hope.

Another representation of the colors of the stripes is: Red is for the blood that was spilled for the nation, white is for freedom, and green represents the nation’s land.