top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> South America> Guyana

Country Name

Guyana, or officially the Co-operative Republic of Guyana.


It is located on the northern mainland of South America. Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the south and

southwest, Venezuela to the west, and Suriname to the east.

Guyana is the third-smallest sovereign state in mainland South America after Uruguay and Suriname.



Reason for Naming the country

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, "Guyana" comes from an indigenous Amerindian language and means "land of many waters".


The flag of Guyana is known as The Golden Arrowhead. The flag was adopted in May 1966 when the country gains independence from the United Kingdom.​

The flag has a unique design of two triangles- one within the other-

arising from the same base, it contains five colors, Red, Black, Yellow, White, and Green.

Green represents the agricultural and forested nature of Guyana, White represents the rivers and water potential of the country, The yellow arrow represents Guyana's mineral wealth, Black represents the resistance of the Guyanese people, and Red represents the zeal and dynamic nature of nation-building which lies before the young and independent Guyana."


English is the official language of Guyana and is used for education, government, media, and services.

Most of the population speaks Guyanese Creole, an English-based creole with slight African and East Indian influence, as their native tongue.

Also, Cariban languages (Akawaio, Wai-Wai, and Macushi) are spoken by a small minority, while Indic languages are retained for cultural and religious reasons.


Christianity, Hinduism, and Islam are the dominant religions in Guyana.

The majority of the Indo-Guyanese are Hindus, although a substantial number are Muslims.

Most Afro-Guyanese are Christians, although a few have converted to Hinduism or Islam. Guyana's other ethnic groups are largely Christian. (Protestant and Roman Catholic).


Guyanese dollar.

Time Zone

-04:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary presidential constitutional socialist republic.


In Guyana, the climate is hot and humid all year round. High temperatures, heavy rainfall with slight seasonal differences, high humidity, and high average cloud cover provide the climatic characteristics of an equatorial lowland. Temperatures are remarkably identical.

The trade winds decrease the constant heat and high humidity near the coast. As regards the rainfall, there are two rainy seasons (from December to early February and from late April to mid-August) and two relatively dry seasons (typically, February-March and September-October).

Both duration and intensity of rainfall vary depending on the area, but the period May-August is very rainy everywhere.

In the areas that don't have a real dry season, we can speak of equatorial climates, otherwise, of tropical weather.

The rains mainly occur in the form of heavy showers and thunderstorms, usually in the afternoon or evening.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Guyana

Facts About Guyana

Famous Food you should try in Guyana

Famous Places to Visit in Guyana

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Guyana

أشهر الأكلات في جيانا

معلومات شيقة عن جيانا

نبذة عن جيانا

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في جيانا

عادات و ثقافة جيانا

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page