top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> Africa> Guinea

Country Name

Guinea or officially the Republic of Guinea.


Guinea is a west-coastal country in West Africa. Guinea shares a border with Guinea-Bissau to the northwest, Senegal to the north, Mali to the northeast, Ivory Coast to the east, Sierra Leone to the southwest, and Liberia to the south.



The reason for naming the country

Formerly known as French Guinea, the modern country is sometimes referred to as Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from other countries with "Guinea", such as Guinea-Bissau and Equatorial Guinea.

Guinea is named after the Guinea region. Guinea is a traditional name for the region of Africa that lies along the Gulf of Guinea. It stretches north through the forested tropical regions and ends at the Sahel.

The English term Guinea comes directly from the Portuguese word Guiné, which emerged in the mid-15th century to refer to the lands inhabited by the Guinness, a generic term for the black African peoples south of the Senegal River, in contrast to the "tawny" Zenaga Berbers above it, whom they called Azenegues or Moors.


The Guinea flag was adopted on November 10, 1958, after gaining independence from France on October 2, 1958. The Guinea flag is similar to the flag of Ghana, except that on Ghana's flag the stripes are placed horizontally.

The design of the Guinea flag is based on the French flag, However, on

Guinea's flag, the French blue, white, and red colors are replaced with

the Pan-African colors of red, yellow, and green. The flag of Guinea consists of tricolor vertical stripes - the left stripe is red; the middle is yellow, and the right stripe is green.

The red represents the bloodshed in the struggle for the homeland, The yellow represents the mineral wealth of the country, and the sun and

the green stripe represents the rich African vegetation.