top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Mar 12

Home> Countries> Africa> Ghana

Country Name

Ghana, or officially the Republic of Ghana.


Ghana is located in Western Africa. Ghana is bordered by the Gulf of Guinea, Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) to the west, Burkina Faso to the north, and Togo to the east.



The reason for naming the country

The meaning of Ghana means "Warrior King" and was the title accorded to the kings of the medieval Ghana Empire in West Africa, but the empire was further north than the modern nation of Ghana, in the region of Guinea.


The current version of the Ghana flag was adopted on February 28, 1966.

It was originally adopted on March 6, 1957, when Ghana gained independence from Britain. The white stripe replaced the yellow one from 1964 to 1966, the country also changed its name to Ghana from the Gold Coast when it gained independence.

The flag of Ghana consists of three equal horizontal stripes the top is red; the middle is yellow, and the bottom is green. In the yellow stripe, there is a black five-pointed star. The red stripe represents the blood spilled during Ghana's struggle for independence; the yellow stripe symbolizes the mineral wealth of the country, and the green represents the nature and fertility of the nation.

The black star symbolizes African freedom and the African people.

On November 23, 1958, a union between Ghana and Guinea was formed with a flag similar to Ghana's but with two black stars on it.