top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> Africa> Gabon

Country Name

Gabon, or the Gabonese Republic.


Gabon is a country on the west coast of Central Africa. Located on the equator, Gabon is bordered by Equatorial Guinea to the northwest, Cameroon to the north, the Republic of the Congo to the east and south, and the Gulf of Guinea to the west.



The reason for naming the country

Gabon's name originates from gabão, Portuguese for "cloak", which is roughly the shape of the estuary of the Komo River by Libreville.


The Gabon flag was adopted on August 9, 1960, just over a week before Gabon gained its independence from France on August 17, 1960.

The flag of Gabon consists of three equal horizontal stripes of green;

yellow; and blue. The flag represents Gabon's geographical position in the world.

The green color represents the country's lush vegetation and forests, The yellow color represents the equator that runs through Gabon and also represents the sun. The blue color represents the Atlantic Ocean which laps Gabon's shores.