top of page
  • To-Go


Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> Africa> Eritrea

Country Name

Eritrea, officially the State of Eritrea.


Eritrea is a country in Eastern Africa. It is bordered by Sudan in the west, Ethiopia in the south, and Djibouti in the southeast. It also shares maritime borders with Saudi Arabia and Yemen.



The reason for naming the country

The name Eritrea is derived from the ancient Greek name for the Red Sea.

It was first formally adopted in 1890, with the formation of Italian Eritrea (Colonia Eritrea). The name continued over the course of subsequent British and Ethiopian occupation and was reaffirmed by the 1993 independence election and 1997 constitution.


The Eritrean flag was adopted on December 5, 1995, making it one of the world's newest flags. Eritrea received independence from Ethiopia on May 24, 1993.

The flag consists of 3 triangles the top triangle is green, the middle one is red and the bottom one is light blue, inside the triangle is a yellow wreath.

The green color represents the agricultural and livestock economy of Eritrea. The red stands for the bloodshed during Eritrea's struggle for

independence. The blue represents the marine wealth while the yellow represents the mineral wealth of Eritrea. The olive wreath and branch symbolize peace.


Eritrea is a multilingual country. Tigrinya, Tigre, and Standard Arabic are the official languages spoken in Eritrea. In Eritrea, all elementary schools use the local language.

Tigrinya and Arabic became the official languages of Eritrea under British rule. Even though English is not widely used, it is slowly developing as a foreign language of choice particularly as it makes up part of the secondary school curriculum.


Orthodox Christianity and Sunni Islam are the largest denominations in the country, with minorities adhering to Jehovah's Witness, independent non-Evangelical churches, and Wahabi Islam.


Nakfa (ERN).