top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

El Salvador

Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> North America> El Salvador

Country Name

El Salvador, or officially the Republic of El Salvador.


It is bordered on the northeast by Honduras, on the northwest by Guatemala, and on the south by the Pacific Ocean.


San Salvador.

Reason for Naming the country

Conquistador Pedro de Alvarado named the new province for Jesus Christ – El Salvador (lit. 'The Saviour'). The full name was Provincia De Nuestro Señor Jesus Cristo, El Salvador Del Mundo (lit. 'Province of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Saviour of the World'), which was subsequently abbreviated to El Salvador.


The El Salvador flag was adopted on September 27, 1972. The flag of El Salvador consists of three equal horizontal stripes - the top and bottom stripes are blue, and the middle stripe is white. In the middle of El Salvador's flag is the country's coat of arms. The blue represents the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea; the white represents peace. The state coat of arms on El Salvador's flag is based on the coat of arms of the former United Provinces of Central America. The coat of arms shows a triangle that represents equality and the three branches of El Salvador's government. El Salvador, which in Spanish means 'the savior', gained its independence from Spain on September 15, 1821, and independence from the Central American federation in 1842. ​ *Flag Facts:

- The flags of El Salvador, Argentina, Nicaragua, and the flag of Honduras are almost identical to one another, these flags comprise three horizontal stripes of blue and white in the middle but differ from each other because of the symbol featured in the center of the flags.