top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 2, 2022

Home> Countries> South America> Ecuador

Country Name

Ecuador, or officially the Republic of Ecuador.


Ecuador is located in South America. Bordered by Colombia on the north, Peru on the east and south, and the Pacific Ocean on the west.



Reason for Naming the country

Ecuador means “equator” in Spanish. It may not surprise you to find out that the country is called this because the equator runs through it. The official name of the country is 'República del Ecuador' (Republic of the Equator). In fact, Ecuador is the only country in the world named after a geographical feature.


The national flag of Ecuador was adopted in 1835 and later on 26 September 1860. It consists of three horizontal bands of yellow (double width), blue and red. The current flag was finalized in 1990 with the coat of arms in the center of the flag. Before using the yellow, blue and red tricolor, Ecuador used white and blue flags that contained stars for each province of the country. The yellow represents the crops and soil, the blue represents the seas and skies, and the red is a representation of the lives lost in the nation's fight for independence. ​

*Flag Facts:

- The flag of Ecuador is similar to the flag of Colombia the two flags adopted a flag of unequal yellow, blue, and red stripes that are horizontal. But the Ecuador flag has the country's coat of arms at the center whereas the Columbian flag has none - The flag of Venezuela has the same color as the Colombian & Ecuadorian Flags.