top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 2, 2022

Home> Countries> South America> Curaçao

Country Name

Curaçao, or officially the Country of Curaçao.


Is a Lesser Antilles island country in the southern Caribbean Sea and the Dutch Caribbean region, about 65 km (40 mi) north of the Venezuelan coast. It is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Together with Aruba and Bonaire, it forms the ABC islands. Collectively, Curaçao, Aruba, and other Dutch islands in the Caribbean are often called the Dutch Caribbean.



Reason for Naming the country

One explanation for the island's name is that Curaçao was the autonym by which its indigenous peoples identified themselves. Early Spanish reports support this theory, referring to the indigenous peoples as Indios Curaçaos.


​The Flag of Curaçao was adopted in 1982. It features a plain blue field with a yellow diagonal stripe and two five-pointed stars in the top left corner.

The blue at the bottom of the flag represents the sea and at the top, the blue represents the sky, both of which are almost always blue in Curacao. The yellow stripe represents the sun that is most often present over the island of Curacao. The two stars represent the two islands that make up this country, Curacao and Klein Curacao. Additionally, the five points in each star represent the five continents that Curacao’s people originally come from. The white color of the stars is also important as it represents peace and happiness.

*Flag Facts:

- The flag of Curacao is similar to the flag of Nauru, the two flags match by design and symbolism.