top of page
  • To-Go


Updated: Oct 2, 2022

Home> Countries> Europe> Croatia

Country Name

Croatia, or officially the Republic of Croatia.


​Croatia is a Central European and Mediterranean country, is country at the crossroads of Central and Southeast Europe. It shares a coastline along the Adriatic Sea.

It borders Slovenia to the northwest, Hungary to the northeast, Serbia to the east, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Montenegro to the southeast, the country also is sharing a maritime border with Italy in the Adriatic Sea to the west and southwest.



Reason for Naming

The name of Croatia derives from Medieval Latin Croātia, itself a derivation of the native ethnonym of Croats, earlier *Xъrvate and modern-day Croatian: Hrvati. The origin of the name is uncertain but is thought to be a Gothic or Indo-Aryan term assigned to a Slavic tribe. The oldest preserved record of the Croatian ethnonym *xъrvatъ is of the variable stem, attested in the Baška tablet in style zvъnъmirъ kralъ xrъvatъskъ ("Zvonimir, Croatian king"). Croatia is often called “the land of a thousand islands” A more accurate nickname might be “the land of 1,246 islands, islets, and reefs” but that's just not quite as catchy.


The flag of Croatia was adopted on 21 December 1990.

The national flag of Croatia is known as the Trobojnica, which translates to English to mean The Tricolour. The flag consists of three horizontal stripes Red, White, and Blue, with the Croatian coat of arms in the center of the flag, the flag colors are used to represent the historic constituent states of the Croatian Kingdom.

Red and white are a representation of the Kingdom of Croatia, blue and white are representative of the Kingdom of Slavonia, and blue color and Yellow are used to symbolize The Kingdom of Dalmatia, The coat of arms that is centered on the flag features multiple colors, including cyan, yellow, and black.

The checkered shield of the coat of arms represents the Croatian nation and five small crests represent Croatian provinces Old Croatia from the left, Dubrovnik, Dalmatia, Istria, and Slavonia.

The Croatian flag was adopted ten months before the nation declared its independence from Yugoslavia and the day before the adoption of the nation’s constitution.

*Flag Facts

- The flag of Croatia is similar to the flag of Paraguay, the flag of the Netherlands, and the flag of Luxembourg the only distinguishable bit between the flags is that the flag of Croatia has a coat of arms on the flag.

-Although the four flags use similar colors, the flag of Luxembourg has lighter shades of red and blue.


Croatian is the official language of Croatia and became the 24th official language of the European Union upon its accession in 2013. Minority languages are in official use in local government units where more than a third of the population consists of national minorities or where local legislation defines so. Those languages are Czech, Hungarian, Italian, Ruthenian, Serbian, and Slovak. Besides these, the following languages are also recognized: Albanian, Bosnian, Bulgarian, German, Hebrew, Macedonian, Montenegrin, Polish, Romanian, Romany, Russian, Rusyn, Slovene, Turkish, and Ukrainian.