top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 2, 2022

Home> Countries> South America> Colombia

Country Name

Colombia, or officially the Republic of Colombia.


Colombia is a large country located in the north of South America, with territories in North America.

Colombia is bordered on the north by the Caribbean Sea, the northwest

by Panama, the south by Ecuador and Peru, the east by Venezuela, the southeast by Brazil, and the west by the Pacific Ocean.

Colombia is the fourth-largest country in South America, after Brazil,

Argentina, and Peru. It is also the 25th-largest country in the world.



Reason for Naming the country

The name "Colombia" is derived from the last name of "Christopher Columbus" the Italian explorer who began the European colonization of the Americas, even though he never set foot on Colombian land.

It was Alonso de Ojeda, one of Columbus' companions on his second voyage, who was the first European to set foot on the land in 1499.

- *In 1819, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, and Panama declared independence from Spain, and formed a country called "Gran Colombia". Venezuela and Ecuador separated in 1830. Panama continued to be part of Colombia until 1903, at which point it proclaimed independence