Central African Republic

Updated: Sep 18

Home> Countries> Africa> Central African Republic

Country Name

The central African Republic.


The central African Republic is a landlocked country in Central Africa.

It is bordered by Chad to the north, Sudan to the northeast, South Sudan to the southeast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south, the Republic of the Congo to the southwest, and Cameroon to the west.



Reason for naming the country

The Central African Republic was once a French colony known as Ubangi-Shari because the land is split between the basins of the Ubangi and Shari rivers.

When those partners rejected the coalition, too, Boganda decided to keep the French-inspired name for what had become a freestanding, independent Ubangi-Shari.


The Central African Republic flag was adopted on December 1, 1958.

The flag consists of four equal horizontal stripes with an equal vertical red in the middle of it.

The horizontal stripes appear from top to bottom in blue, white, green, and yellow. There is a yellow five-point star situated on the blue stripe near the top left-hand corner of the flag.

The red color represents the blood of the nation spilled in its fight for

independence, The yellow star represents a bright future, The blue stripe represents vastness, freedom, serenity, and the sky, The white color represents bravery, peace, and dignity; the green represents hope and faith;

and the yellow stripe represents the people's tolerance, hospitality, and charity.


The Central African Republic's two official languages are French and Sango (also spelled Sangho), a creole developed as an inter-ethnic lingua franca based on the local Ngbandi language.

The central African Republic is one of the few African countries to have an African language as its official language.


Christianity is the predominant religion in the Central African Republic.

The CIA World Factbook suggests that Christians account for 50% of the population of the CAR, Muslims account for 15% of the population, and the remaining 35% adhere to indigenous African beliefs.


Central African CFA franc (XAF).

Time Zone

+01:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary semi-presidential constitutional republic.


In the Central African Republic, the climate is tropical, and hot all year round, with a dry season in winter. The rainy season, which lasts for most of the year in the south, is limited to the summer months in the north.

In the rainiest period, from July to September in the center-north and from May to October in the south, the rains can cause flooding. The country is covered by savanna, and in large areas of the center-south also by rainforests; in the far north, there is instead a drier strip close to the Sahel. The amount of sunshine in the Central African Republic is higher in winter than in summer, in addition, it is higher in the north than in the south.

In fact, in the north, the dry season is longer, and it is also more easily sunny, while in the south, the rainy season is longer, and in the winter dry season, the sun does not always shine because cloud banks are relatively frequent.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Central African Republic

Facts About Chad the Central African Republic

Famous Food you should try in the Central African Republic

Famous Places to Visit in the Central African Republic

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in the Central African Republic

أشهر الأكلات في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى

معلومات شيقة عن جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى

نبذة عن جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى

عادات و ثقافة جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All