top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 2, 2022

Home> Countries> Europe> Bulgaria

Country Name

Bulgaria, or officially the Republic of Bulgaria.


Bulgaria is a country in Southeast Europe. It is bordered by Romania to the north, Serbia and North Macedonia to the west, Greece, and Turkey to the south, and the Black Sea to the east.



Reason for Naming

The name Bulgaria is derived from the Bulgars, a tribe of Turkic origin that founded the country. Their name is not completely understood and is difficult to trace back earlier than the 4th century AD, but it is possibly derived from the Proto-Turkic word bulģha ("to mix", "shake", "stir") and its derivative bulgak ("revolt", "disorder"). The meaning may be further extended to "rebel", "incite" or "produce a state of disorder", and so, in the derivative, the "disturbers". Ethnic groups in Inner Asia with phonologically similar names were frequently described in similar terms: during the 4th century, the Buluoji, a component of the "Five Barbarian" groups in Ancient China, was portrayed as both a "mixed race" and "troublemakers".


The Flag of Bulgaria's first adoption date was adopted in 1879, following the Russo-Turkish War. The nation adopted the flag after gaining independence. The current flag of Bulgaria was officially adopted on November 22, 1990. The National Flag of the Republic of Bulgaria is a national symbol, which expresses the independence and sovereignty of the Bulgarian State. The flag consists of three horizontal white, green, and red stripes. The red and white colors of the flag were taken from the Pan Slavic colors. The green replaced the blue of the Russian Tricolor and before 1990, the white stripe contained the Bulgarian coat of arms*. The white color represents peace, The green color represents the soil’s fertility, and the red color represents the courage of the Bulgarians.

*Flag Facts

-An unofficial flag that features the nation’s coat of arms is also commonly used throughout Bulgaria.