top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 3, 2022

Home> Countries> Asia> Bhutan

Country Name

Bhutan, and officially known as the Kingdom of Bhutan.


Bhutan is a landlocked country located in South Asia, Bhutan is located in the Eastern Himalayas.

Bhutan is bordered by India to the east and south and China to the north.



Reason Of Naming

The meaning of Bhutan is unknown, although it is likely to derive from the Tibetan endonym "Böd" for Tibet. Traditionally, it is taken to be a transcription of the Sanskrit Bhoṭa-anta "end of Tibet", a reference to Bhutan's position as the southern extremity of the Tibetan plateau and culture.


The flag of Bhutan was adopted in 1969. The flag of Bhutan reflects the country´s name in the local language (Druk Yul), which means "country of the thunder dragon".

This name is linked to the Buddhist monastery Druk, which was reportedly founded in the country in the 13th century. The diagonal divides the flag into two parts yellow and orange.

The yellow color represents the authority of the king, the orange indicates the strength of the Buddhist religion in the country and the Drukpa monasteries. The white dragon stands for purity and loyalty, and the jewelry in his paws refers to the great wealth of the country.

The placement of the dragon in an equal proportion of yellow and orange shows the equal importance given to these traditi