top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Oct 3, 2022

Home> Countries> North America> Bermuda

Country Name

Bermuda, The Somers Isles, or Islands of Bermuda.


Bermuda is a British Overseas Territory in the North Atlantic Ocean. It is approximately 1,035 km east-southeast of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina; 1,236 km south of Cape Sable Island, Nova Scotia; 1,759 km northeast of Cuba, and 1,538 km due north of the British Virgin Islands.

Mayotte location



Reason for naming the country

Bermuda is named after the Spanish sailor Juan de Bermúdez, who discovered the islands in 1505. One of the earliest appearances of the name in English literature is in Shakespeare's The Tempest.


The flag was first adopted on 4 October 1910.

It is a British Red Ensign with the Union Flag in the upper left corner and the coat of arms of Bermuda in the lower right. Prior to this like most of the British colonies at the time it adopted a blue ensign with a seal that depicted a dry dock with three sailing ships. In 1999, the flag was changed to its current form, with an enlarged coat of arms.

The coat of arms shows a lion holding a shield that bears a picture of a shipwreck on a rock. The Latin inscription on the coat of arms reads Quo Fata Farunt ("Whither the Fates Carry"). The British flag represents that it is a territory of Britain, The red color represents bravery, strength, hardiness, and valor, the white color represents peace, while the blue color represents justice, loyalty, perseverance, truth, and vigilance.

The coat of arms represents the courage of Admiral George Sommer who crushed onto the reef intentionally to save the people on board his ship from a storm. These individuals became the first settlers on the island.


The official language in Bermuda is Bermudian English.

British English is used in print media and formal written communications.

Other languages spoken in Bermuda are Portuguese & French also spoken by migrants.


Christianity is the predominant religion in Bermuda, Protestant counts for 46.2% (includes Anglican 15.8%, African Methodist Episcopal 8.6%, Seventh Day Adventist 6.7, Pentecostal 3.5%, Methodist 2.7%, Presbyterian 2.0%, Church of God 1.6%, Baptist 1.2%, Salvation Army 1.1%, Brethren 1.0%, other Protestant 2.0%), Roman Catholic 14.5%, Jehovah's Witness 1.3%, other Christian 9.1%, Muslim 1%, other 3.9%, none 17.8%, unspecified 6.2%.


Bermudian dollar (BMD).


Time Zone

-04:00 GMT.

-03:00 GMT. (DST)

Government Regime

Parliamentary democracy; self-governing overseas territory of the UK.


The climate in Bermuda is very mild due to the influence of the Gulf Stream, but it is not tropical.

In winter, from November to March, temperatures are very mild, with lows around 15/17 °C and highs around 20/22 °C, there are about 11/13 days with rain per month, and there can be windy days as well.

Summer in Bermuda is hot and muggy, with highs around 30 °C in July and August, although the heat is tempered by the breeze. There are about 10/12 days with rain per month, but the rain in this season usually falls in the form of short and intense showers and thunderstorms, which break out in the evening and do not affect the amount of sunshine.

The best time to visit Bermuda is in April & May the daytime temperature is around 24 °C, while the sea temperature is around 21 °C.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Bermuda

Facts About Bermuda

Famous Food you should try in Bermuda

Famous Places to Visit in Bermuda

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Bermuda

أشهر الأكلات في برمودا

معلومات شيقة عن برمودا

نبذة عن برمودا

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في برمودا

عادات و ثقافة برمودا

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page