top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 18, 2022

Home> Countries> South America> Aruba

Country Name


*Aruba is one of the four countries that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands, along with the Netherlands, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten; the citizens of these countries are all Dutch nationals


Aruba-the Dutch Caribbean island-is a 19 miles (30 km)- long island of the Lesser Antilles in the southern Caribbean Sea. It's also just 15 miles (24 km) from the coast of Venezuela.

Together with Bonaire and Curaçao, it forms a group referred to as the ABC islands of the Leeward Antilles, the southern island chain of the Lesser Antilles. It is about 50 miles (81 kilometers) west of Curaçao, and about 108 miles (175 kilometers) west of Bonaire. Aruba is not surrounded by an ocean of its own. The surrounding ocean is the Caribbean Sea which is connected to the Gulf of Mexico to the northwest and the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast.




The Flag of Aruba was adopted on March 18, 1976. This was the day that Aruba gained freedom from the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The flag is composed of a light blue background (called "Larkspur"), with two narrow parallel horizontal yellow stripes in the bottom half ("Bunting Yellow"), and a four-pointed white-fimbriated red star in the canton ("Union Flag red").

The blue color represents the surrounding seas around Aruba, and the yellow color represents Aruba’s industries in oil, aloe, and gold, along with the country’s abundant history.

The red color represents the love that the people of Aruba hold for their country, along with Aruba’s ancient industry in Brazilwood, which also represents the red soil of the country.

The white color represents Aruba’s people who strive for justice, liberty, and the pure white beaches the country is known for.

The star on the flag represents the island itself and the four points of the star are a symbol of the four points on a compass, with the island bringing people in from around the world.

The four-pointed star also represents the four major languages spoken in Aruba; Papiamento, Spanish, English, and Dutch.

The two horizontal yellow stripes are a symbol of the