top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 20, 2022

Home> Countries> Asia> Armenia

Country Name

Armenia or the Republic of Armenia.


It is a landlocked country with many rugged mountains and volcanoes. Located in the southern Caucasus between the Caspian Sea and the Black Sea between Asia and Eastern Europe. (Specifically at the convergence point of Western Europe with the Asian East) Armenia borders Georgia to the north, Turkey to the west, Iran to the south, and Azerbaijan to the east.



Reason Of Naming

There are several names for the state of Armenia. The local name of the country is Hayastani Hanrapetut'yun. While the abbreviated name is "Hayastan" or "Hayek" * And the international name "Republic of Armenia" and the abbreviation "Armenia". As for the country's name "Hayek", Hayek is the legendary patriarch of the Armenians, who is said to be one of Noah's descendants. The Patriarch was victorious over the King of Babylon in 2492 BC about 5000 years ago. His people lived in an area called Ararat. In the Middle Ages, "Stan"- a Persian word meaning "land" - was added to the word Hayek and became "Hayastan". The name Armenia is derived from Aram, one of the direct descendants of Hayek.

* Hayek is no longer in use.


The flag of Armenia was adopted on 24 August 1990. It consists of three horizontal colors; Red, Blue, and Orange. The meaning known for these colors is: Red indicates the blood of the Armenian soldiers who sacrificed for their homeland, blue color shows the Armenian sky, the Orange color indicates the nature of the fertile land. But The official meaning of these colors, which was defined in the Constitution of Armenia on 15 June 2006, is: The red color indicates the hills of Armenia, the Armenian people's continued struggle for survival, the preservation of the Christian faith, and the freedom and independence of Armenia, Blue indicates the will of the Armenian people to live under the calm sky, and the orange color indicates the skill of creativity and the nature of the Armenian people.


96% of the population speaks the Armenian language as well as some other languages such as Russian, Greek, and others. Armenian is an Indo-European language used in Armenia, in the surrounding areas, and in the Diaspora, where Armenian communities have settled. Among the Indo-European languages, Armenian is one of the few languages to maintain its primitive form, close to the Greek and Persian languages.


Christianity has been the official religion of Armenia since Armenia was the first country after Rome to adopt Christianity as the official religion of the state, adopted in 301 AD, and most of the population belongs to the Armenian missionary church and they are followers of the Eastern Orthodox Church.


Armenian Dram (AMD).

Time Zone

+04:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary semi-presidential republic


The winter of Armenia is very cold, with heavy snow and rain, and the summer is dry, hot, and sunny, from the first of June until the middle of September.

The best time to visit Armenia is in spring and autumn, especially the month of May and from mid-September to mid-October.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About Armenia

Facts About Armenia

Famous Food you should try in Armenia

Famous Places to Visit in Armenia

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Armenia

أشهر الأكلات في أرمينيا

معلومات شيقة عن أرمينيا

نبذة عن أرمينيا

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في أرمينيا

عادات و ثقافة أرمينيا

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page