top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go

American Samoa

Updated: Sep 8, 2022

Home> Countries> Oceania> American Samoa

Country Name

American Samoa


American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of (the independent nation of) Samoa.

American Samoa consists of five main islands and two coral atolls. The largest and most populous island is Tutuila, with the Manuʻa Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island also included in the territory. All islands except for Swains Island are part of the Samoan Islands, west of the Cook Islands, north of Tonga, and about 500km south of Tokelau. To the west are the islands of the Wallis and Futuna groups.


Pago Pago.


The flag was adopted on April 27, 1960. The flag of American Samoa is a flag consisting of a red-edged white triangle pointing towards the hoist charged with a bald eagle holding a war club and fly-whisk, with dark blue upper and lower triangles.

The colors and symbols on the flag of American Samoa carry a range of cultural, regional, and political meanings. Many of these themes are shared with the flag of the U.S, or ties to the history between the two. Both flags carry the colors red, white, and blue.

The bald eagle represents the United States. In its claws, it holds a fly whisk (fue) and a war club (uatogi). Both of them are uniquely Samoan symbols.

The fue represents traditional Samoan chiefs with their wisdom and tradition, and the uatogi represents the energy of the state and government power.


The American Samoans have a rich indigenous language and English forms the second language. Most islanders can speak both.


The majority of the population are Christians, major Christian denominations on the island include the Congregational Christian Church in American Samoa, the Catholic Church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and the Methodist Church of Samoa.

Other denominations on the island are; the Seventh-day Adventists, various Pentecostals (including the Assemblies of God), the Church of the Nazarene, Jehovah's Witnesses, and The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

A minority group of agnostic, Chinese Universalists, Buddhists, and followers of the Baháʼí Faith are found on the island.


United States dollar (US$) (USD).

Time Zone

-11:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Devolved presidential constitutional dependency.


In American Samoa, an archipelago in the Pacific Ocean located south of the Equator, the climate is hot, humid, and rainy throughout the year, with a maximum of rainfall from December to March and a relative minimum from June to September.

Temperatures are stable, with little variations between the hottest period (December to April), when highs are about 31 °C (88 °F), and the coolest period (June to August), when they are around 29 °C (84 °F). Night temperatures are almost always above 20 °C (68 °F). The southeast trade winds blow steadily throughout the year, especially from May to October, and are stronger during the day, making the heat more bearable.

The best time to travel to American Samoa runs from June to September, since it is the least hot and the least rainy period of the year; anyway, even during this period, downpours and thunderstorms must be put into account.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Readers Also Read:

Quick Brief About American Samoa

Facts About American Samoa

Famous Food you should try in American Samoa

Famous Places to Visit in American Samoa

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in American Samoa

أشهر الأكلات في ساموا الأمريكية

معلومات شيقة عن ساموا الأمريكية

نبذة عن ساموا الأمريكية

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في ساموا الأمريكية

عادات و ثقافة ساموا الأمريكية

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page