top of page
  • Writer's pictureTo-Go


Updated: Sep 20, 2022

Home> Countries> Oceania> Niue

Country Name



Niue is an island country in the South Pacific Ocean, northeast of New Zealand.

Niue is located in a triangle between Tonga, Samoa, and the Cook Islands. It is 604 kilometers northeast of Tonga. The island is commonly referred to as "The Rock", which comes from the traditional name "Rock of Polynesia". Niue is one of the world's largest coral islands.




The flag of Niue was adopted on 15 October 1975.

The Niuean flag features the Union Jack of Britain in the upper left corner with a star in the middle of the Union Jack and four stars forming a diamond around it.

The four stars represent the Southern Cross constellation and are tied to the New Zealand flag. A fifth yellow star is placed on a blue disc at the St. George’s Cross intersection.

This larger star represents Niue’s self-rule and the blue disc represents the surrounding ocean. The yellow background of the flag represents the sunshine on the island and the continuing warmth of the nation’s relationship with New Zealand.


Niue only has two official languages: Niuean and English. Both languages are widely spoken throughout the island


The majority of the Niueans are Christian people.

75% of the population is affiliated with the Protestant Church of Niue; the rest is a mix of Catholic, Latter-day Saints, Jehovah's Witnesses, Seventh-Day Adventists, and Baha'i.


New Zealand dollar (NZD).

Time Zone

-11:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy under a non-partisan democracy.


The climate of Niue, is tropical, with a hot, muggy, and rainy period from November to April and a cooler and drier period from May to October, during which the southeast trade winds prevail.

In the hot period, temperatures hover around 28/29 °C (82/84 °F) during the day and around 22/24 °C (72/75 °F) at night, while in the cooler period, daytime temperatures drop to around 25/26 °C (77/79 °F) and night-time temperatures to around 20/21 °C (68/70 °F). In the hot period, the temperature can sometimes exceed 35 °C (95 °F), while in the cooler period, it can drop below 15 °C (59 °F) at night, especially in July and August.

The best time to visit Niue is from mid-May to October since it is the coolest and sunniest period of the year.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Read More:

Quick Brief About Niue

Facts About Niue

Famous Food you should try in Niue

Famous Places to Visit in Niue

Customs, Traditions & Etiquette in Niue

أشهر الأكلات في نييوي

معلومات شيقة عن نييوي

نبذة عن نييوي

أشهر الأماكن السياحية في نييوي

عادات و ثقافة نييوي

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page