top of page
  • To-Go


Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Home> Countries> Oceania> Guam 

Country Name

The territory of Guam (English), or Guåhan (Chamorro).


Guam, an island and unincorporated territory of the United States in the North Pacific Ocean, is the largest, most populous, and southernmost of the Mariana Islands.

It lies about 5,800 miles (9,300 km) west of San Francisco and 1,600 miles (2,600 km) east of Manila (Philippines).


Hagåtña (Agana).


The flag of Guam was adopted on February 9, 1948.

The flag is composed of a dark blue background with a narrow red border on all sides (the border was added after 30 years), and the coat of arms "Guam seal" in the center of the flag.

The coat of arms is an almond-shaped emblem, which represents a proa sailing in Agana Bay near Hagåtña, and the word GUAM is colored in red letters. The shape of the emblem recalls the slingshot stones used by the islanders' ancestors. The landform at the back represents the Punta Dos Amantes cliff on Guam.

The red color represents the bloodshed in World War II and Spanish independence.


The official languages on the island are English and Chamorro. Filipino is also a common language across the island. Other Pacific island languages and many Asian languages are spoken in Guam as well.

Spanish, the language of administration for 300 years, is no longer commonly spoken on the island, although traces of the language remain in proper names, loanwords, and place names and it is studied at university and high schools.


The dominant religion in Guam is Christianity, the majority of the population is Roman Catholicism 75%, then Protestantism 17.7%, while Other Christian groups account for 1.4%.

Other minority includes; Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Eastern Orthodox, Wicca, Folk religion & Other religions


United States dollar (U.S.$).