Home> Countries> Australia> New Zealand

New Zealand

Country Name

New Zealand.


New Zealand is a sovereign island country in the southwestern Pacific


New Zealand is about 2,000 kilometers (1,200 mi) east of Australia 

across the Tasman Sea and 1,000 kilometers (600 mi) south of

the Pacific island areas of New CaledoniaFiji, and Tonga.

New zealand location



Reason for naming the country 

The name "New Zealand" comes from “Zeeland” which translates to "Sealand" in Dutch, after it was sighted by Dutch explorer Abel Tasman. Zeeland is a province in the Netherlands.

The Maori* did not have a name for their islands as a whole.

After New Zealand was formed by treaty the name Aotearoa was created to name the new country in Maori. 

In Māori language, it means "Land of the Long White Cloud". 

Ao means “cloud”, tea means “white”, and roa means “long”.

*the original people of New Zealand


The flag of New Zealand was adopted in 1902.

It is also known as the New Zealand Ensign, and it is based on the British maritime Blue Ensign.

The flag contains three colors Blue, Red, and White.

The background is a blue field with the Union Jack in the 

upper left corner, and on the right side, there are four red stars 

centered within four white stars, representing the Southern Cross constellation.

 The 1902 flag is a symbol for the people of New Zealand, its Kingdom, and the Government.

The Union Jack represents the close relationship between New Zealand and the United Kingdom, as well as New Zealand’s past as a colony of Great Britain.

The Southern Cross shows the South Pacific Ocean location of the country. The Blue color represents the sky and the sea.

Flag of New Zealand


New Zealand English is the language of the majority of New Zealand.

Māori is the dominant indigenous language spoken in the nation.

Several other native languages are spoken in the outlying islands and territories of New Zealand.

Immigrants to the country speak their own native languages.


Christianity is the predominant religion in New Zealand, although its society is among the most secular in the world.

 Christian diversity in New Zealand between  Catholic, AnglicanPresbyterian, and other denominations of Christianity.

41.9% recorded that they do not identify with a religion.

Also, there are minorities belong to some other religion such as Islam, Hinduism, or Judaism.


New Zealand dollar


Time Zone

+12:00 GMT

+13:00 GMT (summer time)

Government Regime

Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy


New Zealand's seasons are the opposite of the northern hemisphere's - summer starts in December, autumn in March, winter in June and spring in September.

January and February are the warmest months, with July the coldest.
New Zealand's maritime climate is temperate with an average of roughly 2000 sunshine hours a year.
Overall, the climate is fairly mild with few extremes of temperatures.

The average temperature ranges from 15°C in the upper regions of the North Island to 10°C near the bottom of the South Island.

Average temperatures range from 7°C in winter to 16°C in summer, although in many places, summer temperatures can reach the 30s.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Some Facts About New Zealand


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com