Home> Countries> Asia> Mongolia
00:00 / 04:43


Country Name



is a landlocked country in East Asia. 

Mongolia is bordered by China to the south, east, and west,

and Russia to the north.


The reason for naming the country

The name Mongolia means the "Land of the Mongols" in Latin.

The origin of the word the Mongolian word "Mongol" of uncertain etymology, given variously such as the name of a mountain or river; a corruption of the Mongolian Mongkhe-tengri-gal,  or a derivation from Mugulu, the 4th-century founder of the Rouran Khaganate.




 The Flag of Mongolia was adopted on 12 January 1992.

The first use of the current flag design was in 1940.

The flag consists of three vertical stripes of a red stripe at each side

and a blue stripe in the middle.

The Soyombo symbol centred on the hoist-side of the red stripe in

a yellow color.

The red color represents thriving forever

The blue stripe represents the eternal blue sky,

The Soyombo symbol is a geometric abstraction that represents fire, sun, moon, earth, water, and a Taijitu symbol representing the duality of yin and yang.



Mongolian Buddhism and Shamanism have been the two dominant religions in Mongolia with most indigenous Mongols adhering to these religions. 

The Buddhism practiced in Mongolia is heavily influenced by Tibetan Buddhism.

The Mongolian Shamanism refers to the indigenous folk religion of the people of Mongolia. It is the oldest religion practiced in the country

The Constitution of the country provides for freedom of religion. The government generally respects this right of the people.

There is about  38.6% of the population is not affiliated with any religion. Other minority practised in Mongolia are Muslims and Christians.


The official language of Mongolia is Mongolian, and is spoken by 95% of the population. A variety of dialects of Oirat and Buryat are spoken across the country, and there are also some speakers of Mongolic Khamnigan. In the west of the country, Kazakh and Tuvan, both Turkic languages, are also spoken. Mongolian Sign Language is the principal language of the deaf community.

Russian is the most frequently spoken foreign language in Mongolia, followed by English, although English has been gradually replacing Russian as the second language. Korean has gained popularity as tens of thousands of Mongolians work in South Korea


Tögrög (MNT)


Time Zone

Mongolia has 2 time zones

+07:00 GMT. 

+08:00 GMT.

Government Regime

Unitary semi-presidential republic.


In Mongolia, the climate is strongly continental.

The climate in Mongolia is unstable, so, from year to year, there may be significant variations in temperature and precipitation.
The weather is continental with long cold winters and short warm summers; the temperature range between winter and summer is definitely wide.
Rainfall is rare and is concentrated in summer when the country is partly affected by the Asian monsoon; in winter, when a thermal high-pressure system dominates, the sky is often clear.

During winter, snowfalls are frequent but usually light, in fact, they often create a thin white veil, which can be carried away by the wind. Sometimes, light snow can even fall when the sky is clear.

Much of Mongolia is occupied by a plateau in the plateau, strong winds can blow, especially in spring.

Owing to the aridity of the climate, these winds can bring dust storms, which are more frequent in the south, quite frequent in the center (15 to 30 days per year), and very rare in the north (even less than 10 days per year).

In winter, the wind associated with outbreaks of cold air masses can amplify the feeling of cold and lead to rapid frostbite to the persons who are not sufficiently covered. For example, with a temperature of -20 °C (-4 °F), which is normal in Mongolia during the cold season, a wind of 72 kph (45 mph) generates a wind chill (equivalent temperature) of -35 °C (-31 °F), and therefore the risk of freezing.

When the temperature plunges below -30 °C (-22 °F), in case of prolonged exposure, there's a risk of frostbite even with no wind.

International Phone Code


Internet Code



Some Facts about Mongolia


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com