Home> CountriesAustralia> Marshall Islands
00:00 / 01:59

Marshall Islands

Country Name

The Marshall Islands or The  Republic of the Marshall Islands.


 Is an island country located near the equator in the Pacific Ocean

The islands share maritime boundaries with the Federated States of

Micronesia to the west, Wake Island to the north, Kiribati to the southeast 

and Nauru to the south. 


Reason for naming the country 

The Marshall Islands were named after a British captain, John Marshall (also known as William Marshall), who, with the help of another captain, Thomas Gilbert, who owns islands near the Marshall Islands, named the Gilbert Islands, explored an archipelago in 1788 when he was being transported to New South Wales.




The current Marshall Islands flag was adopted on May 1, 1979, when the islands were self-governing.

The 24 radios in the white star symbolize 24 constituencies in the

Marshall Islands, while the four large radars point to  the four main

regions of the Marshall Islands (Majuro, Jaluit, Wotje and Ebeye).

Blue symbolizes the Pacific Ocean.

White symbolizes the Ratak Chain, which means

sunrise. White also symbolizes peace.

Orange symbolizes the Ralik Chain, which

means "sunrise". Orange also symbolizes courage and success.

Flag of Marshall Islands


The official language of the Marshall Islands is Marshallese, which is similar to the Micronesian languages.

The closest languages to the Marshallese language are the other Micronesian languages such as Nauruan and Chuukese. Marshallese language is divided into Ralik and Ratak dialects. Ralik is mainly spoken by residents of the western Ratak Chain while Ratak is spoken by the residents of the eastern Ratak Chain. The two dialects differ mainly lexically but are mutually intelligible.

Other Languages Spoken In The Marshall Islands

English, Spanish, Americans, Japanese, and other Pacific Islanders languages.


Christianity is the religion of the vast majority of the population of the Marshall Islands. 54.8% of the population are Protestant Christians.

There are followers of the Assemblies of God, the Roman Catholic Church, Mormonism, and the Bukot Nan Jesus Church accounts for 39% of the population.

Adherents of other Christian denominations and other religions comprise 3.6% and 1% of the population, respectively. 1.5% of the population are not affiliated to any religion.


American dollar. (USD)

Time Zone

+12:00 GMT.

Us dollar

Government Regime

Unitary parliamentary republic.


On the Marshall Islands, the climate is tropical, hot all year round, with little variation in temperature. The trade winds blow constantly, tempering the heat.

The climate has a dry season from December to April and a wet season from May to November. Many Pacific typhoons begin as tropical storms in the Marshall Islands region, and grow stronger as they move west toward the Mariana Islands and the Philippines.

The best time to visit the Marshall Islands runs from January to March in the central and southern atolls, since it is the least rainy period, even though there is still a fair amount of showers and thunderstorms. On the northern islands, instead, the best period runs from December to April, when the rains are quite rare and generally not abundant.

Calling code


Internet Code


Some Facts About the Marshall Islands