Home> CountriesAustralia> Kiribati
Kiribati - music
00:00 / 00:00


Country Name

Kiribati or officially The Republic of Kiribati.


It is located in the tropical central Pacific Ocean, consisting mainly of

approximately 32 islets.

Kiribati does not share land borders.

The neighboring islands, however, include Fiji, Nauru,

The Marshall IslandsSamoa, French Polynesia, the Cook Islands, and Tonga.

Reason for Naming

This name derives from the main archipelago that forms the nation. It was named the Gilbert Islands after the British explorer Thomas Gilbert. He sighted many of the islands in 1788 while mapping out the Outer Passage route from Port Jackson to Canton


South of Tarawa.



The Kiribati flag was adopted on July 12, 1979.

The Red Rays symbolize the sky.

The seven rays that emerge from the sun symbolize the

16 The Gilbert Islands and Banaba Island.

White Wavy lines symbolize 3 groups of islands

forming the country Gilbert Island, Phoenix Island and

Line Island.

Blue symbolizes the Pacific Ocean.



The people of Kiribati speak an Oceanic language called Gilbertese.

Although English is also an official language, it is not used very often outside the island capital of Tarawa

I-Kiribati is also The main language there.



Christianity is the major religion in Kiribati, having been introduced by missionaries in the 19th century. 

The Baha'i Faith religion also exists in Kiribati, along with Jehovah's Witnesses.



  Kiribati Dollar

Australian Dollar (AUD).


Time Zone

UTC +12 Gilbert Island Time

UTC +13 Phoenix Island Time

UTC +14 Line Islands Time



Parliamentary republic.



Due to its location, Kiribati exhibits a maritime climate. Temperatures range between 26-32 °C (79-90 °F) year-round, with the water temperature sitting on a comfortable year-round 28-29 °C (82-84 °F).


Calling Code


Internet Code



Some Facts About Kiribati


​ ​​


 Kiribati Flag
Kiribati dollar


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com