Home> Countries> South America> Colombia
00:00 / 10:51


Country Name

Colombia, or officially the Republic of Colombia.


Colombia is a large country located in the north of South America, with territories in North America.

Colombia is bordered on the north by the Caribbean Sea, the northwest

by Panama, the south by Ecuador and Peru, the east by Venezuela,

the southeast by Brazil, and the west by the Pacific Ocean

Colombia is the fourth-largest country in South America, after Brazil

Argentinaand Peru.

It is also the 25th-largest country in the world.

colombia location



Reason for naming the country 

The name "Colombia" is derived from the last name of "Christopher Columbus"  the Italian explorer who began the European colonization of the Americaseven though he never set foot on Colombian land.

It was Alonso de Ojeda, one of Columbus' companions on his second voyage, who was the first European to set foot on the land in 1499.

*In 1819, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, and Panama declared independence from Spain, and formed a country called "Gran Colombia".

Venezuela and Ecuador separated in 1830. Panama continued to be part of Colombia until 1903, at which point it proclaimed independence.


The first use of the Colombian flag design was in 1810.

Colombia adopted its flag on November 26, 1861.

The flag consists of 3 horizontal tricolors yellow (double-width), blue and


There are several different definitions of the Colombian flag color. 

Yellow represents the soil, gold, and the riches of the country, as well as

the sun, harmony, agriculture, and justice.

Blue represents the seas, rivers, and sky.

Red represents the bloodshed by those who fought for the nation’s

independence, as well as for the people’s determination and perseverance.

Another interpretation is that blue stands for loyalty and vigilance,

red represents the victories achieved in battles, and yellow is symbolic

of justice and sovereignty.

Flag Facts:

- The flag of Colombia is similar to the flag of Ecuador the two flags adopted a flag of unequal yellow, blue, and red stripes that are horizontal. But the Ecuador flag has the country's coat of arms at the center whereas the Columbian flag has none

- The flag of Venezuela has the same color as the Colombian & Ecuadorian Flags.



Spanish is the most popular language spoken in Colombia, however it is known as the Colombian Spanish it varies from the traditional Spanish spoken in Spain.

There are regional Spanish dialects spoken in different regions of the country.

A total of 101 languages are listed in Colombia, there are also

65 Amerindian languages, two Creole languages, the Romani language, and Colombian Sign Language are also used in the country.

The English language is spoken in some cities in Colombia.

Best estimates recorded 71 languages that are spoken in-country today – most of which belong to the Chibchan, Tucanoan, Bora– Witoto, Guajiboan, Arawakan, Cariban, Barbacoa, and Saliban language families.

There are currently about 850,000 speakers of native languages.


Most of the Colombians believe in Christianity, the majority of which are Roman Catholic, while the minority adhere to Protestant (primarily Evangelicalism).

There are some of the population is atheist, while minority claim to believe in God but do not follow a specific religion.

Also, there are Colombians adhere to Jehovah's Witnesses, Adventism, and other religions, such as the Bahá’í FaithIslamJudaismBuddhismMormonismHinduismIndigenous religions, Hare Krishna movementRastafari movement, Orthodox Catholic Church, and spiritual studies


Colombian peso

colombian pesos.jpg

Time Zone

-05:00 GMT

Government Regime

A unitary presidential constitutional republic.


Colombia has a tropical climate along the coast and eastern plains.

However, it can be a bit cooler in the highlands.

The best time to visit Colombia is from December to March as well as July and August.

The weather is pleasant during these months and many festivals take place at this time.

Also, the tourist crowds are relatively low.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Some Facts About Colombia
Read More