Home> Countries> Africa> Central African Republic
00:00 / 07:02

Central African Republic

Country Name

Central African Republic.


Central African Republic is a landlocked country in Central Africa.

It is bordered by Chad to the north, Sudan to the northeast, South Sudan to the southeast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to 

the south, the Republic of the Congo to the southwest, and 

Cameroon to the west.

centeral african republic.jpg



Reason for naming the country 

The Central African Republic was once a French colony known as Ubangi-Shari, because the land is split between the basins of the Ubangi and Shari rivers.

When those partners rejected the coalition, too, Boganda decided to keep the French-inspired name for what had become a freestanding, independent Ubangi-Shari.


The Central African Republic flag was adopted on December 1, 1958.

The flag consists of four equal horizontal stripes with an equal vertical red in the middle of it.

The horizontal stripes appear from top to bottom in blue, white, green, and yellow. There is a yellow five-point star situated on the blue stripe near the top left-hand corner of

the flag.

The red color represents the blood of the nation spilled in its fight for


The yellow star represents a bright future.

The blue stripe represents vastness, freedom, serenity, and the sky.

The white color represents bravery, peace, and dignity;

the green represents hope and faith;

and the yellow stripe represents the people's tolerance, hospitality, and charity.

Central African Republic flag


The Central African Republic's two official languages are French and Sango (also spelled Sangho), a creole developed as an inter-ethnic lingua franca based on the local Ngbandi language.

The central African Republic is one of the few African countries to have an African language as their official language.


Christianity is the predominant religion in the Central African Republic.

The CIA World Factbook suggests that Christians account for 50% of the population of the CAR, Muslims account for 15% of the population, and the remaining 35% adhere to indigenous African beliefs.


Central African CFA franc (XAF).


Time zone​

+01:00 GMT

Government Regime

Unitary semi-presidential constitutional republic


In the Central African Republic, the climate is tropical, hot all year round, with a dry season in winter. The rainy season, which lasts for most of the year in the south, is limited to the summer months in the north.

In the rainiest period, from July to September in the center-north and from May to October in the south, the rains can cause flooding.
The country is covered by savanna, and in large areas of the center-south also by rainforests; in the far north, there is instead a drier strip close to the Sahel.
The amount of sunshine in the Central African Republic is higher in winter than in summer, in addition, it is higher in the north than in the south.

In fact, in the north, the dry season is longer, and it is also more easily sunny, while in the south, the rainy season is longer, and in the winter dry season, the sun does not always shine because cloud banks are relatively frequent.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Some Facts about Central African Republic
Read More