Home> CountriesEurope> Belgium


Country Name

Belgium, officially the Kingdom of Belgium.


 It is bordered by the Netherlands to the north, Germany to the east, Luxembourg to the southeast, France to the southwest, and 

The North Sea to the northwest.

belgium location



Reason for naming the country 

 The name "Belgium" is derived from Gallia Belgica, a Roman province in the northernmost part of Gaul that before the Roman invasion in 100 BC, was inhabited by the Belgae, a mix of Celtic and German peoples.


The Belgium flag was officially adopted on January 23, 1831.

The national flag of the Kingdom of Belgium is a tricolor:

 blackyellow, and red.

These colors are symbolic of the country coat of arms.

Black representing the shield;

Gold representing the lion,

Red representing the lion's claws and tongue

The vertical design may be based on the flag of France.



Belgium has three official languages: Dutch, French, and German.

English is widely spoken as a foreign language.

Dutch dialects spoken in Belgium are Brabantian, West Flemish, East Flemish, Antwerp and Limburgish.

A number of non-official minority languages are spoken as well.

 Some sub-dialects may be quite distant from standard Dutch and not be readily intelligible for other Dutch-speakers.


The main religion in Belgium is Christianity, in particular, Roman Catholic, which is the largest religion in Belgium.

Belgium officially recognizes three religions: Christianity (Catholic, Protestantism, Orthodox churches and Anglicanism), Islam and Judaism.




Time Zone

+02:00 GMT

Government Regime

Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy.


People living in Belgium can expect temperate conditions with mild winters and cool summers that are rainy, humid and cloudy.

International Phone Code


Internet Code


Some Facts About Belgium

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com