HomeCountriesAustralia> Australia
australian - music
00:00 / 00:00


Country Name

Australia, or formally Commonwealth of Australia.




Located in the southern hemisphere, surrounded from the West and

The South by The Indian Ocean, and from the East by the Pacific Ocean.

It is separated from Asia by the Arafura and Timor seas,

with the Coral Sea lying off the Queensland coast, and the Tasman Sea 

lying between Australia and New Zealand. and it is separated also from Antarctica by the Antarctic Ocean.

The continent is surrounded by the Timor Sea, Arafura Sea, Torres Strait, from the East  Coral Sea, the Tasman Sea, and from the South Bass Strait.


Reason Of Naming

The name Australia is derived from the Latin Terra Australis "southern land", a name used for a hypothetical continent in the Southern Hemisphere since ancient times.

Until the early 19th century, Australia was best known as "New Holland", a name first applied by the Dutch explorer Abel Tasman in 1644

The explorer Matthew Flinders named the land Terra Australis, which was later abbreviated to the current form.






The flag of Australia was first selected in 1901.

But the current flag was used in 1934 and in 1954 the flag was

considered as the national flag of Australia.

The flag has three elements on a blue background:

the Union Jack, the Commonwealth Star, and the Southern


   - The Union Jack in the upper left corner represents the history

of British settlement.

   - Below the Union Jack is a white Commonwealth, or Federation, star. It has seven         

       points representing the unity of the six states and the territories of the     

        Commonwealth of Australia. The star is also featured on the Commonwealth Coat of            Arms.

   - The Southern Cross is shown on the flag in white. It is a constellation of five stars that

       can only be seen from the southern hemisphere and is a reminder of Australia’s     




Although Australia has no official language, English has always been entrenched as the de facto national language.

 Australian English is a major variety of the language with a distinctive accent and lexicon and differs slightly from other varieties of English in grammar and spelling.

 General Australian serves as the standard dialect.



Australia has no state religion; the Australian Constitution prohibits the federal government from making any law to establish any religion, impose any religious observance, or prohibit the free exercise of any religion

 Some of them are Christian (Catholics), atheists, and there are also followers of Buddhism, Islam, Hinduism, and Judaism.


 Australian Dollar AUD


Time Zone

 +08:00 to +10:30 GMT.

Australia has multiple time zones. But it has 5 standard time zones,Not all states and territories use Daylight Saving Time.

The states that use DST are the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria.

Western Australia, Queensland, and  Northern Territory don't use DST.



Democratic parliamentary federation



The climate of Australia is significantly influenced by ocean currents, including the Indian Ocean Dipole and the El Niño–Southern Oscillation, which is correlated with periodic drought, and the seasonal tropical low-pressure system that produces cyclones in northern Australia.These factors cause rainfall to vary markedly from year to year. Much of the northern part of the country has a tropical, predominantly summer-rainfall (monsoon). The south-west corner of the country has a Mediterranean climate. The south-east ranges from oceanic(Tasmania and coastal Victoria) to humid subtropical (upper half of New South Wales). The interior is arid to semi-arid.

International Phone Code



Internet Code



Some Facts About Australia






Australia Flag
Australia Currency


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com