Home> CountriesNorth America> United States
American Folk Music - USA
00:00 / 00:00

United States Of America

Country Name

The United States of America Or the United States or the USA Or America



 Most of the country is located in Central North America, between

the Pacific Ocean from the west and the Atlantic in the east.

It bordered by Canada in the north, Mexico in the south,

Russia to the west across the Bering Strait.

48 states and the capital's federal district are located in North America between Canada and Mexico.

The state of Alaska is in the northwest corner of North America. The state of Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-Pacific Ocean.

The state also includes many Caribbean and Pacific islands and territories


Reason for naming the country 

In 1507, the German cartographer Martin Waldseemüller produced a world map on which he named the lands of the Western Hemisphere America in honor of the Italian explorer and cartographer Amerigo Vespucci.

The second draft of the Articles of Confederation, prepared by John Dickinson and completed by June 17, 1776, at the latest, declared "The name of this Confederation shall be the 'United States of America'".

 The final version of the Articles sent to the states for ratification in late 1777 contains the sentence "The Stile of this Confederacy shall be 'The United States of America'"

The short form "United States" is also standard. Other common forms are the "U.S.", the "USA", and "America".



Washington D.C




The current American flag was adopted on July 4, 1960.

The flag of the United States of America consists of

13 alternating horizontal stripes of equal width -

7 are red and 6 are white.

In the top left corner of the flag, there is a dark blue rectangle

that has 50 white, five-point stars on it.

The stars are arranged in nine horizontal rows.

The 50 stars represent the 50 states of the USA,

and the 13 stripes represent the 13 colonies* of the US that declared independence from  Britain on July 4, 1776.

The red represents courage, white represents liberty or purity and blue represents justice, loyalty, and perseverance. These meanings are unofficial though. 

*Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Virginia


English (American English) is the de facto national language.

 Although there is no official language at the federal level, some laws—such as U.S. naturalization requirements—standardize English.

Spanish is also widely used, making it the second language after English.



The United States is a secular state; the first amendment to the US Constitution guarantees freedom of religion and prohibits the establishment of any religious rule. Most of Americans are Christian. Protestants represent the highest proportion of Christianity, followed by Catholicism.

The largest non-Christian religions are Judaism, Buddhism, Islam, Hinduism, and atheist.



US dollar ($) USD


Time Zone

There are 9 time zones

-04:00 GMT


-10:00 GMT


Government Regime

Federal presidential constitutional republic



Moderate in most, but tropical in Hawaii and Florida, polar in Alaska, semi-dry in the Great Plains west of the Mississippi River, dry in the Great Basin in the southwest.


International Phone code


Internet Code




Some Facts About USA




US Dollar


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com