Home> CountriesAfrica> Algeria
00:00 / 46:09


Country Name

Algeria or The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria.



Algeria is located in the northwest of the African continent,

overlooking the Mediterranean Sea from the north. 

Algeria is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea, Morocco and Western

Sahara to the west, Mauritania, Mali, and Niger to the south,

and Libya and Tunisia to the east.

Algeria is the largest country in the continent of Africa.

The coastal strip extends 1660 km from Tunisia in the east to Morocco in the west. 

Reason for Naming The Country 

In past Algeria was known as Numidia. Then it was called in the era of the Phoenicians as "Akuzim" and continued until then ruled by King "Belkin bin Ziri", where he expanded the city and the construction of an expanded scheme and worked on its implementation, and changed its name to "Algeria Beni Mazgneh" because of the spread of small islands around their city,

The Arabs after opening it they called it "Middle Morocco" to distinguish it from Far Morocco - Morocco currently - and Africa - present Tunisia.

In the Ottoman era, the whole country was named as its capital"Algeria". Which was acquired from four small islands that were located along the city's coast and known as Algeria's Beni Mazgene and the city was then abbreviated in Algeria only.






The flag of Algeria was adopted on 3 July 1962.

It is made up of two colors: Green and white with

a crescent moon and a five-pointed star in Red in the middle.

There are a red crescent and a  star in the middle of the flag.

The flag was invented by Emir Abdelkader al-Jazairi in the 19th

century, It contained only the red and white colors like the flag of


 As the flag of Algeria is the same flag of the Ottoman Empire because of its follow-up, was the crescent and star in white on a red background between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
The crescent and the five-pointed star refers to Islam as the official religion of the state.



Algeria has Two official languages and one national language.

The Official Language is Arabic and the National Language is Amazigh or Tamazight.

Most Algerians also speak French.



The majority of the population condemns the Islamic religion and it reaches 95% to 97%. There is also in Algeria the Christian religion followers of the Orthodox doctrine, but a small percentage.



Algerian dinar.



Time Zone

 +01:00 GMT



Government Regime

Unitary semi-presidential.


Climate in Algeria

The Mediterranean climate prevails north of Algeria, where winter is relatively mild and rainy, while rainfall in the plateaus is less than in the north, and its winter is very cold, may reach less than zero, while its summer is dry and hot. The desert climate prevails in the southern regions of the country where Heat in summer above 50 ° C, seasonal rain falls in the winter.


International Phone Code



Internet Code


Some Facts About Algeria




Algeria Location
Algeria Flag
Algeria Currency


© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com